Quick Takes Review for May 27 to May 30, 2024
Quick Takes Review for May 27 to May 30, 2024

Quick Takes Review for May 27 to May 30, 2024

Quick Takes Review for May 27 to May 30, 2024

Here is the Quick Takes review for May 27 to May 30, 2024, and how our listeners contributed to the topics.

Monday, May 27

On Monday 27 May 2024, we told you that President Bola Tinubu asked Nigerians to pay close attention to the state governors, and what is happening in their respective states, in term of development.

He also expressed disappointment at the operation of the local government, saying the system is being choked.

The president made the call, while receiving a delegation of the Yoruba leaders of thought at the presidential villa, on Friday

He asked state governors to take their responsibilities seriously, as operators of the second tier of government, and make the people of their respective states the focus of their development programs.

And we asked what your take was on Tinubu’s submission.

95% agreed, while 5% disagreed.

Tuesday, May 28

On Tuesday 28 May 2024, we told you that the Attorney-General of the Federation, Lateef Fagbemi, called for the scrapping of the state electoral commissions, which handled the conduct of the local government poll in the country.

According to Fagbemi, the state electoral body is the main impediment to the development of local governments.

Fagbemi made the call on Monday at a one-day ‘discourse on National Nigeria’s Security Challenges and Good Governance at the local government levels” in Abuja, organized by the House of Representatives.

He accused the Governors of exploiting the shortcomings and gaps in certain sections of the 1999 constitution to weaken and make local governments ineffective.

And we asked what your take was on the Fabgemi’s submission.

74% agreed, while 26% disagreed.

Read Also:

Quick Takes Review for February 26 to February 29, 2024

Wednesday, May 29

On Wednesday 29 May 2024, we told you that Former President Olusegun Obasanjo faulted the implementation of two of the major economic policies of the Tinubu administration.

The former President okayed the petroleum subsidy removal and reforms of the foreign exchange market, as necessary for the economy.

But he said the policies are being wrongly implemented, calling for the right way to handle the economy, to regain the trust of investors in the country.

Obasanjo spoke on the policies on Sunday in Abuja, at the Paul Aje Colloquim on Nigeria’s development: navigating the way out of the current economic crisis and insecurity.

And we asked what your take was on Obasanjo’s submission.

71% agreed, while 24% disagreed 5% Neutral.

Thursday, May 30

On Thursday 30 May 2024, we said the Former Minister of Education, Mrs. Obiageli Ezekwesili, said that she would not revert to the old National Anthem, newly signed by President Bola Tinubu as the country’s new anthem.

Ezekwesili made this disclosure in a post on her X handle on Wednesday.

According to her, no one can suppress her right to dissent from what she described as an obnoxious law repugnant to all who are of good conscience in Nigeria.

And we asked what your take was on Mrs. Obiageli Ezekwesili’s submission.

8% agreed, while 92% disagreed.

Leave a Reply